Vlowjob wins Ian Parry Grant / by John Javellana

Congratulations to my good friend Vicente Jaime Villafranca, pictured here right after getting the call from Magnum’s Jonas Bendiksen, for winning the 2008 Ian Parry Scholarship. Also known as Herman Araro, this 26 year-old photojournalist who was a former underwear billboard model (sorry man, it’s such a nice trivia about you!) and part-time pimp bagged the prestigious grant via his Gangs of Baseco photo story.

As seen on

VJ Villafranca Wins Ian Parry Scholarship
July 07, 2008
By Daryl Lang

Photographer Vicente Jaime “VJ” Villafranca has won the 2008 Ian Parry Scholarship.
The prize awards £3,000 ($5,900) to a photographer attending a full-time photographic course or under the age of 24. Villafranca plans to use the award to fund a project in Myanmar.
Villafranca, 26, is a freelance photographer in Manila, Philippines and a former student at the Asian Center for Journalism, Ateneo De Manila University. His portfolio includes portraits of gang members who live in downtown Manila.
Runners up for the prize include Gianni Cipriano (highly commended), Matt EichGratiane de Moustier (commended).
The scholarship is given in memory of Ian Parry, who died in 1989 at age 26 while on assignment for
(commended) and The Sunday Times during the Romanian revolution. The Sunday Times Magazine publishes the work of all the finalists.
The work will also be on view at the Getty Images Gallery in London from for two weeks beginning August 7.
Previous Ian Parry Scholarship winners include Ivor Prickett, Irina Werning, Arantxa Cedillo, David Høgsholt, Leonie Purchas, Jonas Bendiksen and Zijah Gafic.

more from : http://www.gmanews.tv/story/106170/Pinoy-lensman-bags-coveted-Ian-Parry-award

Congratulations again man, turbo na yan!